Social Media Integration and Interactivity: create my tweet campaign for the Galaxy Note

In my free time I often read technology-related news, especially news focused on new mobile devices and software. Naturally, I come across many stories and articles about Samsung, HTC, Apple, Sony, and the like. If any of you follow this kind of news, you have probably heard of Samsung’s newest mobile device: the Galaxy Note.

Two of the most unique features of this device are its unusually large 5.3 inch screen (An iPhone’s screen is 3.5 inches), and its integration of an “S pen”–coupled with Wacom technology–that makes it easy to sketch, draw, and write on the device.

Because of these two features, Samsung decided one way to market the product would be to highlight its benefit of helping people be more creative on the go. To do this, they ran a campaign that integrated the three most commonly used social media sites: Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

I thought it would be interesting to share the campaign with you, and see if you thought it was effective or not.

Create My Tweet Social Media Marketing Campaign 

The concept of the campaign was to engage 4 artists and have them, using the Galaxy Note, draw digital pictures of ideas people tweeted and post them to the web. The campaign ran for four days from November 22nd to November 25th. Each day featured a different artist.

YouTube: 

To promote the event, Samsung Mobile ran videos on YouTube and then posted links to the videos on both Facebook and Twitter.

Here is the overview video. They also posted videos of each particular artist.

Facebook:

In addition to promoting the campaign on their Facebook wall, they created a sub page to host  information about the artists. They also created a gallery of the created artwork once it was finished.

Twitter

Twitter was used to actually execute the campaign. People tweeted their ideas with the hastag #createmytweet to the artists. The artists then created the tweets and posted the images to Twitter and Facebook. Here is an example of one:

Overall, I thought it was a creative example of how Samsung used Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube to execute a marketing campaign.

What do you think about the campaign?

One thought on “Social Media Integration and Interactivity: create my tweet campaign for the Galaxy Note

  1. awise6 says:

    I am not a tech junkie by any means but I am intriqued by the Samsung Galaxy Note. I have an iPhone and the screen is so small that drawing on it is impossible, believe me I have tried. I think this is a successful campagin becuase it truly highlights the key benefit of a larger screen. The Facebook page which hosts information about the artist is also a great touch, it makes the message a little more human thus easier to relate to. To put a further spin on the campaign and to attract a different subset of users, I would suggest Samsung promote this product to parents. I can not tell you the number of times I have sat in the Dr.’s office with my son (when he was much younger) and needed a way to entertain him. He loved drawing, I would have been attracted to this phone for that very reason.

Leave a comment